Skip to content

Sharing Excellence: EiB Virtual Meeting 2020

to
90 people attending
CGIAR Excellence in Breeding invites its partners and interested experts to learn more about EiB’s mandate, services and progress, successes and challenges. Get updated, share your feedback, and meet with breeding experts from around the globe.

Separately, we will be sending you Outlook invitations to block your calendar. 
 
MEETING GOALS:
  • Strengthened EiB understanding, momentum and partnerships 
  • Stakeholders are updated on EiB strategy, priorities, accomplishments and challenges, and give feedback to EiB teams
  • Centers and NARS have a stronger common vision for breeding modernization in the future CGIAR 

AGENDA OVERVIEW:
  • Stories of Excellence profiling innovations and successes from EiB partners
  • The updated EiB mandate
  • Shared services profiled and explained
  • Module updates and resource showcase
  • Stakeholder feedback sessions
  • OneCGIAR and breeding opportunities
  • Informal coffee chatrooms

DATES AND TIMES:

Nov 10-12: Tues, Wed, Thurs
- Join one regional session on Nov 10 and 11 (2 hours + 30 mins chatroom)
- Everyone joins on Nov 12 (1 hour + 30 mins chatroom)

Regional sessions 1 & 2: Tues, Wed: (attend option 1 Asia OR option 2 Americas)
1 - Asia (and morning Africa/Euro option): Tues/Wed mornings
Nairobi, Kenya. 9:00am - 11:00am (EAT) // Hyderabad, India, 11:30am - 1:30pm (IST) // Manila, Philippines, 2:00pm - 4:00pm (PST)
+++ 30 mins networking chat rooms

2 - Americas (and evening Africa/Euro option): Tues/Wed mornings
Seattle, United States, 7:00am - 9:00am (PST) // Mexico City, Mexico, 9:00am - 11:00am (CST) // Rome or Ibadan, Nigeria 4:00pm - 6:00pm (CET) // Nairobi, Kenya, 6:00pm - 8:00pm (EAT)
+++ 30 mins networking chat rooms

3 - Global wrap up (everyone attends): Thurs morning Americas / Evening Asia
Seattle, 5:00am - 6:00am (PST) // Mexico City/Cali/Quito, 7:00am - 8:00am (CST) // Nairobi, 4:00pm - 5:00pm (EAT) // Hyderabad, 6:30pm - 7:30pm (IST) // Manila, 9:00pm - 10:00pm (PST)
+++ 30 mins networking chat rooms

Visit the EiB website event page

Proudly Supported By

Schedule

· Sessions
[Asia/AM Africa] Day 1 Plenary
Welcome, Story of Excellence, EiB mandate & update
· Sessions
[Asia/AM Africa] Module breakouts 1
Module breakout rooms: M3 Genotyping / M5 Bioinformatics, biometrics, data / NARS
Biswanath Das Young Wha Lee Eng Hwa Ng
· Networking
[Asia/AM Africa] One-on-one networking
Match randomly with another participant for a 5-minute chat
· Sessions
[Americas/PM Africa] Day 1 Plenary
Welcome, Story of Excellence, EiB mandate & update
Jan Debaene
· Sessions
[Americas/PM Africa] Module breakouts 1
M1 Product design & management / M2 Optimizing breeding schemes / M4 Operations & phenoytyping
Sarah Hearne Gustavo Teixeira Giovanny Covarrubias
· Networking
[Americas/PM Africa] One-on-one networking
Match randomly with another participant for a 5-minute chat
· Sessions
[Asia/AM Africa] Day 2 Plenary
Reflection summary, Story of Excellence, Shared services, Toward One CGIAR
· Sessions
[Asia/AM Africa] Module breakouts 2
M3 Genotyping / M5 Bioinformatics, biometrics, data / NARS
Biswanath Das Young Wha Lee Eng Hwa Ng
· Sessions
[Asia/AM Africa] Chat Rooms
Informal chat with EiB module leads and other experts
Biswanath Das Young Wha Lee Eng Hwa Ng
· Sessions
[Americas/PM Africa] Day 2 Plenary
Reflection summary, Story of Excellence, Shared services, Toward One CGIAR
Jan Debaene
· Sessions
[Americas/PM Africa] Module breakouts 2
M1 Product design & management / M2 Optimizing breeding schemes / M4 Operations & phenoytyping
Sarah Hearne Gustavo Teixeira Giovanny Covarrubias
· Sessions
[Americas/PM Africa] Chat Rooms
Informal chat with EiB module leads and other experts
Sarah Hearne Gustavo Teixeira Jan Debaene Giovanny Covarrubias
· Sessions
Global Session Day 3 (Thurs)
For all participants from across the globe. AGENDA: Reflections from regional sessions, partner views and discussion, wrap up
· Sessions
Global Chat Rooms
Drop in to chat and join EiB team and others for informal conversation among experts

Speakers

Biswanath Das

EiB NARS coordinator

Sarah Hearne

EiB Toolbox lead, M2 trait discovery

Eng Hwa Ng

Module 3 lead: genotyping/sequencing

Young Wha Lee

Module 5 lead: biometrics, bioinformatics, data

Gustavo Teixeira

Module 4 lead: Operations & phenotyping

Giovanny Covarrubias

Module 2 lead, Optimizing breeding schemes

Jan Debaene

Deputy Director, EiB

Adam Hunt

Host, Americas

Tickets

Already registered? Log In to access the event
Hosted by

CGIAR Excellence in Breeding

Booths

Excellence in Breeding overview

Excellence in Breeding overview, via CIP

Enterprise Breeding System (EBS) demo

EBS team demonstrates new integrated data management system

Stories of Excellence

Breeders from around the globe share innovations and successes